The Council is an association of 26 units of general purpose local government created in 1969.  Member local governments include 12 counties and 14 of the municipalities in the region.  One-third of the total representatives are appointed by the Governor, with the remainder appointed by member local governments.  Two-thirds of the representatives must be local-elected officials.

The Council, in partnership with economic development organizations and local governments, promotes regional strategies, partnerships and solutions to strengthen the economic competitiveness and quality of life of the 12 counties and 40 incorporated municipalities in the north central Florida region.  The Council administers a variety of state and federal programs for north central Florida including Alachua, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor and Union Counties.

Each year, the Council adopts the annual budget and a work program.  Each year, the Council elects the organization's officers:  Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary from among its ranks.

Council members serve on several standing and ad hoc committees appointed by the Chair.  The purpose of these committees is to advise the Council on administrattive and programmatic matters. The Council serves as a forum for the coordination and review of federal/state/local government, and private sector planning and development programs and activities affecting the region.

In addition to the regional planning and review activities, the Council provides a variety of services to benefit its local governments.  These services, carried out by staff, include: technical planning assistance, grant planning assistance including grant administration services, transportation planning assistance, hazardous waste monitoring, emergency response planning assistance, and economic development activities.


Return to NCFRPC home page