MINUTES

GAINESVILLE URBANIZED AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION (MTPO) CITIZENS ADVISORY COMMITTEE (CAC)

| Grace Knight Conference Room | 7:00 p.m. |
|--|------------|
| Alachua County Administration Building | Wednesday |
| Gainaguilla Florida | November 5 |

| Gainesville, Florida | _ | | November 5, 2003 |
|--|--|--|--|
| MEMBERS PRESENT | MEMBERS ABSENT | OTHERS PRESENT | STAFF PRESENT |
| Joe Wilson, Chair Jan Frentzen, Vice Chair Phil Emmer Richard Fletcher Doug Hornbeck Jim Painter Tony Porter Robert Reller John Skelly Mike Wright | James Foust Mandy Parks Cindy Smith [2 Vacancies] | Carol Higman Doreen Joyner-Howard Sam Middleton Fred Wright | Marlie Sanderson Thomas Hill Michael Escalante |

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Joe Wilson called the meeting to order at 7:05 pm.

I. INTRODUCTIONS

Chair Wilson asked everyone to introduce themselves.

II. APPROVAL OF THE MEETING AGENDA

Chair Wilson suggested that the agenda be amended to add discussion of the SW 24th Avenue Reconstruction Project after Agenda Item X. Dr. Kermit Sigmon Citizen Participation Award.

ACTION: Robert Reller moved to approve the agenda amended to add discussion of the SW 24th Avenue Reconstruction Project after Agenda Item X. Dr. Kermit Sigmon Citizen Participation Award. Richard Fletcher seconded; motion passed unanimously.

III. APPROVAL OF COMMITTEE MINUTES

Mr. Robert Reller discussed his conflict of interest declaration from the October 15, 2003 CAC meeting.

ACTION: Robert Reller moved to approve the October 15, 2003 minutes. Tony Porter seconded; motion passed unanimously.

IV. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

Mr. Marlie Sanderson, MTPO Director of Transportation Planning, announced that the next MTPO meeting is scheduled for November 20 at 1:30 p.m. in the Jack Durrance Auditorium. He said that the next CAC meeting is scheduled for January 7.

V. SR 222 (NW 39TH AVENUE) RESURFACING PROJECT

Mr. Thomas Hill, MTPO Senior Planner, stated that the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) has submitted 60 percent design plans for the SR 222 resurfacing project.

Mr. Hill and Ms. Doreen Joyner-Howard, FDOT District 2 Transportation Specialist, discussed the design concepts for the SR 222 resurfacing project and answered questions.

ACTION: Jim Painter moved to recommend that the MTPO approve FDOT's 60 percent design plans for the NW 39th Avenue Resurfacing Project (FPN #207611-2-52-01), with consideration of the modifications requested by the City of Gainesville Public Works Department. Doug Hornbeck seconded; motion passed unanimously.

VI. FDOT TENTATIVE FIVE YEAR WORK PROGRAM

Mr. Sanderson stated that FDOT has requested comments concerning the <u>Tentative Five Year Work Program for Fiscal Years 2004/2005 to 2008/2009</u>. He said that the TAC needs to recommend whether the MTPO should request changes to existing or proposed projects or request that new projects to be added to, or existing projects to be deleted from, this document.

Mr. Sanderson, Mr. Michael Escalante, MTPO Principal Planner, and Ms. Joyner-Howard discussed the <u>Tentative Five Year Work Program for Fiscal Years 2004/2005 to 2008/2009</u> and answered questions.

ACTION: Richard Fletcher moved to recommend that the MTPO request that the Florida Department of Transportation revise the Tentative Work Program to replace the:

1. SW 23rd Road Trail Project [FIN 2112452] with the Hull Road North Extension Bicycle/Pedestrian Trail; and

2. SW 20th Avenue Roundabout Project [FIN 2113353] with a preliminary engineering corridor study and 30 percent plans that lead to construction of the Phase 1-B Charrette projects within a two-lane divided urban cross-section and addresses the issues listed in the November 5th memo from the Alachua County Public Works Department.

Tony Porter seconded; motion passed unanimously.

ACTION: Jan Frentzen moved to recommend that the MTPO approve the Tentative Work Program incorporating the previously approved modifications. Richard Fletcher seconded; motion passed unanimously.

IX. SW 34TH STREET TRAFFIC SIGNAL INFORMATION

Mr. Sanderson stated that the CAC requested information from FDOT regarding the possible removal of the traffic signal on SW 34th Street at Windmeadows Boulevard if a traffic signal is to be installed on SW 34th Street at SW 24th Avenue. He discussed the SW 34th Street signalization and answered questions.

X. DR. KERMIT SIGMON CITIZEN PARTICIPATION AWARD

Mr. Sanderson stated that, in 1997, the MTPO approved the annual Dr. Kermit Sigmon Citizen Participation Award. He said that this award will be presented each year by the MTPO to someone selected by the CAC in recognition for their contribution to the area's planning process. He reviewed the past recipients of the award. He asked the CAC to select someone for the award.

Chair Wilson opened the floor for nominations.

ACTION: John Skelly nominated Joan DeNicola;

Robert Reller nominated Jeff Logan and

Doug Hornbeck nominated Linda Crider.

Doug Hornbeck moved to close nominations; Robert Reller seconded; motion passed unanimously.

The CAC conducted a vote on the nominees in alphabetic order.

Mr. Sanderson reported the vote: Crider, 6 votes; DeNicola, 3 votes; and Logan, 1 vote.

It was a consensus of the CAC to request that the MTPO award the Dr. Kermit Sigmon Citizen Participation Award for 2003 to Dr. Linda Crider.

$X_{\rm B}$. SW 24TH AVENUE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT

Chair Wilson asked about the implications of the Alachua County Commission vote to implement the 2-Lane Divided Design Plans rather than proceeding with 4-Lane Divided Design Plans for the SW 24th Avenue Reconstruction Project.

Mr. Sanderson discussed the SW 24th Avenue Reconstruction Project and answered questions. He noted that the MTPO may consider amending the long range transportation plan.

XI. INFORMATION ITEMS

There was no discussion of the information items.

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Robert Reller moved to adjourn the meeting. Doug Hornbeck seconded; motion passed unanimously.

| The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 p.m. | | |
|--|-------------------------|--|
| | | |
| D. / | 1 1 M M.1 Cl . | |
| Date | Joseph N. Wilson, Chair | |