Transportation Disadvantaged

Florida’s Transportation Disadvantaged Program was created in 1979 through the enactment of Chapter 427, Florida Statutes. In 1989, the Florida Legislature created the Florida Commission for the Transportation Disadvantaged to provide statewide policy guidance and oversite over Florida’s Transportation Disadvantaged Program.

The goal of the Transportation Disadvantaged Program is to effectively coordinate funds and activities to provide older adults, persons with disabilities, and persons with low income access to employment, health care, education and other life sustaining activities.  Transportation services are available in all 67 Florida counties for persons who are eligible and have no access to transportation.  Services are provided through a statewide network of community transportation Coordinators.

The North Central Florida Regional Planning Council provides staff support to the following eight transportation disadvantaged coordinating boards:

The Metropolitan Transportation Planning Organization for the Gainesville Urbanized Area provides staff support to the Alachua County Transportation Disadvantaged Coordinating Board.

Members of coordinating boards represent local and State agencies as well as citizens.  The coordinating boards provide information, advice and direction to the community transportation coordinators on the coordination of services to be provided to the transportation disadvantaged through the Florida Coordinated Transportation System. 

If you are interested in serving on a coordinating board in your county, please complete and submit an application for appointment. Applications for appointment to Coordinating Boards will be accepted through May 31st of each year.  Appointments are for three-year terms from July 1 to June 30.

Board Meeting Schedules | 2023 |

Community Transportation Coordinators


Public Notices

Meetings and Meeting Packets


Transportation Disadvantage Coordinating Board
Public Workshop Agendas for:

Madison County - April 4, 2022

Bradford County - May 3, 2022

Union County - May 3, 2022

Alachua County - May 11, 2022

Levy County - May 12, 2022

Columbia/Hamilton/Suwannee County - May 18, 2022

Dixie County - June 8, 2022

Gilchrist County - June 8, 2022

Lafayette County - June 13, 2022






Return to NCFRPC home page